Brown butter rice Krispy treats with sea salt

20120112-110404.jpg

I have been eying this recipe for a few years now, but it isn’t often that I have Rice Krispy cereal in my house. I do admit that in addition to Rice Krispies, my pantry is boasting nine plus boxes. Cereal is one of my favorite food groups, but that is a whole post in itself.

I am not sure where I first saw the recipe, but when I googled it yesterday I found the following one from Smitten Kitchen an incredibly inspiring food blogger whose blog I regularly read.

20120112-110309.jpg

 

4 ounces of butter ( 1 stick)

1 10-oz bag of marshmallows

1/4 t sea salt

6 cups of Rice Krispy cereal

 

In a large pot, melt the stick of butter over medium-low heat until butter completely melts. Stir frequently and watch as the butter magically turns brown and begins to fill your kitchen with the most wonderful smell- BROWN BUTTER!

 

After the butter reaches an amber brown color, turn the heat off and add the marshmallows. Stir the marshmallows into the butter until fully combined. If the heat from the butter is not enough to melt the marshmallows, you may need to turn the stove back on for an additional minute or so.

 

Remove the pot from the stove and add the Rice Krispies & Salt. After cereal is completely covered with marshmallow mixture, spray an 8×8 pan with non-stick spray and press cereal into pan. Let cool and then cut and serve!

 

 

 

20120112-110331.jpg

 

 

Oh dear…. So, when I managed a bakery in college I was astounded when one my employees got butter and cream cheese confused and she made chocolate chip hockey pucks cookies with cream cheese or another who asked me what the difference was between a lower  case t and an upper case T in a cupcake recipe that she was in the middle of making one afternoon. Well, I can look in the mirror tonight and be astounded at the face staring back at me. I misread this recipe and used 4 Tablespoons of butter NOT 4 ounces. I was wondering why the brown butter taste was not as prominent that I had hoped. I am sorry to not be able to legitimately review this recipe, but I promise to bring you something else tomorrow to read about, look at pictures of, and possibly add to your edible bucket list.

 

 

Needless to say, this recipe remains on my bucket list.

 

 

Let me know if you make these correctly and how great they taste!

 

 

In error filled recipe skimming,

 

Laura

One thought on “Brown butter rice Krispy treats with sea salt

  1. Haha, I’m glad other people make the same mistakes I do! It makes me feel better that even an established cook like yourself makes mistakes sometimes. I love you Laura!

Leave a Reply

