Buttermilk biscuits & Answers from Friday’s post….

I hope everyone had a great weekend. Mine was busy and filled with food 🙂

 

On Friday night T & I had dinner  dinner with two other couples. My friend, Jessica who hosted us made baked ziti, bruschetta on homemade focaccia (!), & a salad with mock Olive Garden dressing. I brought blanched asparagus that I sauteed in butter when I got to Jessica’s house. I then added fresh lemon juice, salt, and pepper. My friend, Kaitlyn, brought the dessert that received the most questions. She is going to do a blog post next week on the dessert so keep your eyes peeled for that one!! It is DELICIOUS!

 

I recently made some blackberry preserves and T suggested that I make buttermilk biscuits so that he could try the preserves 🙂 Sneaky, sneaky. I happily obliged as I saw this as a multitasking opportunity. Anyone that knows me know that I thrive on killing two birds with one stone! As a child, I loved biscuits in the morning with jam and sausage or syrup. As an adult, I prefer them in the afternoon with devonshire cream and berries.

 

There are different varieties of biscuits, but I wanted to produce the perfectly flaky and butter laden biscuit for T’s breakfast. I searched the web and found a recipe via Pink Parsley that looked promising. The key to the layers is the folding of the dough. This technique is similar to that of puff pastry or croissants. These turned out great! The only thing I would do differently next time would be to roll the dough out a little less resulting in a thicker biscuit.

 

Check out those layers!

A dainty edge

Recipe via Pink Parsley

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 T baking powder
  • 1 T plus 1 t sugar
  • 1 t salt
  • 6 T cold unsalted butter, cut into several pieces
  • 3/4 cup cold buttermilk
  • 2 T melted butter, for brushing

 

Preheat the oven to 400 degrees.

In the bowl of a food processor, combine the flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar.  Pulse several times to combine well.  Add the butter and continue to pulse in 2-second increments, until the mixture resembles coarse crumbs with a few pea-sized pieces (about 5 pulses).

Transfer the mixture to a bowl, add the buttermilk over it, and mix with a fork for 1 minute, or until the dough just comes together.

Turn the dough out onto a floured surface, knead with floured hands, and pat into a rectangle about 6×10 inches and 1-inch thick.

Fold the dough like a business letter (the righmost third over the center third, then the left third on top).  Rotate the dough a quarter of a turn, roll it out into a rectangle, and fold it upon itself in thirds again.  Repeat one more time, then pat the dough into a 6×10 inch rectangle a final time.

Using a floured 2-3 inch biscuit cutter, cut the biscuits from the dough and place them about 1 1/2 inches apart on an ungreased baking sheet.  Pat the scraps into a 1-inch thick rectangle and cut more biscuits.

Brush the tops with half the melted butter, and bake 15-20 minutes, or until the tops are just beginning to brown.  Brush the tops again with the remaining butter and serve warm.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Buttermilk biscuits & Answers from Friday’s post….

Leave a Reply

