Out of the office & first guest post!

I hope that everyone had a great weekend filled with good eats. I discovered another way to prepare venison. For those of you who are not aware, T is a hunter. Saturday he went duck hunting and came home with 2 ducks. Keep your eyes peeled for duck reciped to follow shortly!

While I am out of the office kitchen for part of the week, I have a couple of my dear friends who will be guest blogging in my absence. Today is the post I promised last week with THE recipe from Kaitlyn. Without further adieu, here is her post!

 

I am a craft loving, blog obsessing, “not so extreme” couponing wife and teacher. I love cooking and definitely wish I had more time to spend in the kitchen. One shameful but truthful fact about me is that I do not usually try recipes that have ingredients that I am unfamiliar with in them. I am trying to educate myself on new ingredients and genres of food but it is a slow process. My goal is to cook just a small portion of the fancy foods Laura does! Enough about me, let’s move on to the layered jewel I dug up last week. As I was mindlessly searching blogs (with our dinner party in mind), I came across a picture that took my breath away. Peanut butter, cream cheese, Oreos and Reese’s ALL IN ONE DESSERT?! You must be kidding! I did not care how difficult the process was going to be, I was making this dessert. Lucky for me our “Peanut Butter Delight” (renamed by my peanut butter loving husband) was extremely quick and easy. Also, since I work all day it was great to be able to make it the night before. The only downfall is it does require a few expensive splurge items but it is well worth it. Without further adieu, here is THE Peanut Butter Delight:

Ingredients

  • 20 chocolate cream-filled chocolate sandwich cookies, divided
  • 2 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1 package (8 ounces) cream cheese, softened
  • 1/2 cup peanut butter
  • 1-1/2 cups confectioners’ sugar, divided
  • 1 carton (16 ounces) frozen whipped topping, thawed, divided
  • 15 miniature peanut butter cups, chopped
  • 1 cup cold milk
  • 1 package (3.9 ounces) instant chocolate fudge pudding mix

Directions

  • Crush 16 cookies; toss with the butter. Press into an ungreased 9-in. square dish; set aside.
  • In a large bowl, beat the cream cheese, peanut butter and 1 cup confectioners’ sugar until smooth. Fold in half of the whipped topping. Spread over crust. Sprinkle with peanut butter cups.
  • In another large bowl, beat the milk, pudding mix and remaining confectioners’ sugar on low speed for 2 minutes. Let stand for 2 minutes or until soft-set. Fold in remaining whipped topping.
  • Spread over peanut butter cups. Crush remaining cookies; sprinkle over the top. Cover and chill for at least 3 hours.
  • Yield: 12-16 servings.


Leave a Reply

