Caramelized Onion Dip

 

Always stocking vidalia onions in my grocery store is one of my favorite things about living in the south. These onions are unlike your typical onion. My parents always told me as a child that caramelized vidalia onions tasted just like sugar. Let me slightly correct that… They taste way better than sugar! I like putting caramelized onions wherever they might bring a dish to the next level. I decided to make something starring caramelized onions and it was a success!  I also fried some potato chips to serve alongside, but you can use wheat thins, or ruffles, or whatever vehicle you desire to scoop this tasty dip into your mouth!

  • 2 Vidalia onions
  • 3 T butter
  • 3 T olive oil
  • 1/4-1/2 tsp cayenne pepper, I used more because I loved the kick!
  • 1 t salt
  • 1/2 tsp freshly ground black pepper, I used more because I love pepper!
  • 4 oz cream cheese, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup sour cream
  • 1/4 cup greek yogurt
  • 1/4 cup mayonnaise

 Slice the onions thinly. If you want, you can dice the onion for an easier time scooping later on when eating.

Melt the butter and oil in your largest saute pan over medium heat.  Add the onions and saute for 10 minutes.  Reduce the heat to medium-low and add  the cayenne pepper, salt, and black pepper stirring occasionally, for 20 more minutes, until the onions are browned and caramelized.  Allow to cool slightly.

In a bowl, combine the cream cheese, sour cream, greek yogurt, and mayonnaise.  Mix until smooth then stir in the onions.  I like it served at room temperature as the flavors are optimal,  but you may also serve it chilled.

2 thoughts on “Caramelized Onion Dip

  1. Pingback: Caramelized Onion Flatbread « MY EDIBLE BUCKET LIST

Leave a Reply

