Tuesday deals

Each Tuesday, Fresh Market holds a special on a few items at a significantly reduced price. Consequently, each Monday I await an email from them notifying me of the sale. The month of February they are having surf n’ turf Tuesdays offering standing rib roast, wild American shrimp, and lobster tails at a lower-than-normal price.

 

Last time I was in fresh Market I got a 2-lb rib roast and decided that I would treat it similarly to a steak, as it only had one rib bone. I made a rub of the following ingredients this would be great on a normal steak or on an entire tenderloin/roast *. I served this with a horseradish dipping sauce (one of T’s favorite ingredients is horseradish) and he didn’t even use it. He said the rub provided such incredible flavor that the sauce was unnecessary.

 

2 t Kosher Salt

1 T Horseradish, prepared

2 t fresh Rosemary, chopped

1 t Black Pepper, freshly ground

1 Garlic clove, minced

I mixed all of the above and rubbed all sides of the roast with blend.

*these measurements yield a conservative size mixture and should be increased for a thicker crust or a larger cut of beef.

First side searing

After coating the roast with the above mixture, I seared one side in an oven-proof skillet for 6 minutes.

First side is seared, now headed for the oven

Then I flipped the steak and put it in a 400 degree oven for 10 more minutes.

Finished!

 

I pulled the steak out of the oven and let it rest for a few minutes while the juices redistributed.

This is actually my plate

Then I served it to my husband and he was a very happy husband!

 

As is this one 🙂

 

 

If you want to recreate this incredibly delicious dinner, head to your local Fresh Market today or next Tuesday to pick up a standing rib roast while it is on sale! (or the shrimp or lobster!)

 

Question of the day: Did you know that today is national sticky bun day? Anyone have one for breakfast or have a great recipe for it? My favorite is Ina Gartens. IT IS AMAZING!!!!!!!! I would maybe skip cereal to have one of these for breakfast! 

Leave a Reply

