Coffee Sugar Cookies

If you read my Valentine post than you will know where I got the inspiration to make these! We recently celebrated my Aunt’sbirthday and since she is a fellow foodie, I decided to make her a few baked goods as her gift. These were one of the edible gifts I gave her.

 

Coffee Sugar Cookies

 

 

 

If you like sugar cookies and coffee flavored things, I am positive that you will enjoy these. They are crisp and buttery with coffee undertones. For those of you hesitant of the inclusion of coffee, the flavor is not overpowering. I enjoyed them with a schmear of buttercream, though I am not sure what would not be enjoyed with a buttercream garnish? My only complaint, is I could not roll this dough out to cut beautiful shapes like the original poster of this recipe. I found the dough too sticky, instead I just used my cookie dough scooper and settled with the classic shape of round sugar cookies.

 

 

 

 

 

Coffee Sugar Cookies

From I am Baker

1 cup butter softened

1 1/4 cups sugar

2 cups flour

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

2 eggs

2 tbsp. fresh ground coffee

1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon cinnamon

1/4 teaspoon salt

In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugar.

In a small bowl, combine eggs, vanilla, and coffee.

In yet another bowl, add together flour, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt.

Slowly add your egg mixture to the butter mixture until well combined. Slowly add flour mixture until fully combined, do not over beat.

I would chill this dough for AT LEAST one hour, preferably overnight.

When you are ready to bake, preheat oven to 375 degrees and bake for 8-10 minutes, or until edges are slightly golden. Allow cookies to cool completely before covering in any icing

 

 

 

 

 

Question of the day: Did you make anything from my Valentine’s Day post? Would you recommend the recipes to others?

Leave a Reply

