Magazine Junkie

I am the recipient of maybe too many the perfect amount of magazines. I have yet to read all of the ones I received in January yet my reading stack now holds those labelled March. I love reading about seasonal vegetables, the latest food trends, and really all of the edible things that I find in the various magazines to which I subscribe. Because my bucket list of online recipes is so lengthy I tend to forgo the ones I may have marked in my magazines. This was not the fate of Skillet-Baked Eggs with Spinach, Yogurt, and Chili Oil found in the January 2012 issue of Bon Appetit.

Before it went in the oven

Egg White is firm

Check out the spicy brown butter!

The first adjustment I made to the recipe was that I used a regular onion instead of leeks. Another was that I increased the spices and also added Za’atar to the finished dish since many of the ingredients in this dish are complementary of those in this spice blend. I also recommend taking the skillet out of the oven before you think it actually done. Not only does it continue to cook due to the scalding temperature of the cast iron skillet, but the runny yolk makes everything even better (especially the toasted english muffin or warm pita used to scoop out every bit of this brunch worthy meal!)

Question of the Day: Did you brunch this weekend? Any good eats? 

Besides cereal, I enjoyed this mid-day on Saturday.

Leave a Reply

