Restaurant Remake

What do Dallas, Los Angeles, Nashville, St. Louis, Beverly Hills, Jacksonville, and Fairfax have in common? They all have a Cheesecake Factory and are a few of the many locations I have visited while in those cities. I have attempted to make my way through their infamously long menu being careful to not repeatedly order anything. However, once I read the description of their Vietnamese tacos I knew I had to order them! When they arrived at the table and I tasted them, it was love at first bite. Needless to say, I have repeated my order at least two additional times.

YUM!

Can't get enough of these!

The pork belly is incredible flavorful, the pickled vegetables lighten the entire “taco” while adding crunch, and the steamed buns are doughy and they remind me of the buns served with peking duck that I often ate as a child. After falling in love with these tacos, I was determined to recreate them. I wasn’t going to let the fact that the closest Cheesecake Factory is a 3 hour drive from me prevent my indulging in this mouthwatering delicacy.

I stumbled across this recipe and thought the flavors may combine to created something comparable. Woa! I did not expect these to be an exact copy cat. It may have tasted even better because I didn’t have to drive, fly, or pack to get them! I have made this twice. The first time I followed the recipe using short ribs and serving the tacos on tortillas.

Short Ribs on a Tortilla

The second time, I used a venison roast and served it along sweet, sticky rice and sauteed vegetables.

Venison and Rice

The Arial View

The Arial View

Each rendition was equally delicious! If you live near a Cheesecake Factory, you should take advantage of that and order these ASAP! If you, like I do, live a little further and don’t have the time to travel for your dinner, make these ASAP! If you like Korean/Vietnamese/Spicy/Delicious food, you may, in-fact, enjoy love these!!

Question of the Day: Have you ever had something at a restaurant that you recreated at home?

One thought on “Restaurant Remake

  1. Pingback: Tradition! Tradition! « MY EDIBLE BUCKET LIST

Leave a Reply

