Kale, have you tried it?

Unless you have been under a rock for the past few years, you have probably heard of Kale. It seems to be the new healthy vegetable that is getting a lot of attention as of late with endless ‘kale chip’ recipes leading the way for its most popular use. I have tried homemade kale chips and I could take them or leave them.

 

I recently made creamed kale, a play on creamed spinach and it was good. It had more body than regular creamed spinach because kale is a heartier leaf.

 

Creamed Kale

 

I began by sautéing 1/2 cup of chopped onion in olive oil, then seasoned it with salt and pepper. After I removed the large vein running down the middle of the kale, I blanched it, chopped it, then added it to the sauté pan (about 2 cups). I then added garlic, nutmeg, 1 teaspoon of butter and 1 tablespoon of flour. I stirred the kale mixture to make sure the flour and butter coated the vegetable well. Next I added 1/3 cup of milk and 1/4 cup of whipping cream. After the kale thicken, I sprinkled it with grated parmesan.  If you have a favorite creamed spinach recipe, feel free to simply substitute your kale for the spinach.

 

 

Then last night I made sauteed kale. It was delicious!

 

 

Sauteed Baby Kale

 

 

I sauteed half of a vidalia onion in a teaspoon of olive oil. Then I seasoned it with salt and pepper at it began to brown. Next I added several handfuls of baby kale. Baby kale is a more tender kale variety. Without the large veins running through, it looks more like spring mix lettuces. It is sold in a clamshell and is packaged to look exactly like said spring mix. When I added the kale, I also added a good bit of garlic paste. mmmm! The end result was garlicky greens with semi-caramelized onions. They were a winner and definitely my favorite discovery when it comes to trendy vegetable, kale.

Question of the day: Have you ever tried kale? What is your favorite way to eat it? 

4 thoughts on “Kale, have you tried it?

  1. Hey Laura! I made this recipe last week and it was so good! I substituted a few things I already had on hand. I used one cooked potato and a link of venison sausage instead. Very yummy!

    Sausage-and-Kale Soup
    Ingredients
    1 tablespoon olive oil
    1 onion, diced
    2 garlic cloves, minced
    1/4 teaspoon crushed red-pepper flakes
    5 waxy potatoes (1 1/2 pounds), peeled and cut into 1/2-inch
    chunks
    3 cans (14 1/2 ounces each) reduced-sodium chicken broth
    1 bunch kale (12 ounces), stemmed and shredded
    12 ounces smoked chicken sausage, cut into 1/2-inch half moons

    Directions
    In a large pot (6 to 8 quarts), heat oil over medium. Add onion and cook until soft, stirring, 2 to 3 minutes. Add garlic and red-pepper flakes; cook unti fragrant, 1 minute. Add potatoes and broth; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; simmer until potatoes are tender, 10 to 15 minutes.
    In a blender, puree half the soup. Return to pot; add kale and sausage. Simmer until kale is wilted, 10 to 15 minutes

      • No, he wishes though. 🙂 My family down here gave me some. They did tell me that the place that processes the meat for them will sell you a bunch for real cheap. Hunters drop off a deer and never return to pay, so he’ll sell them to make a small profit. Maybe there is something like that in Memphis?

      • Oh, ok! The place where Timothy has his deer processed does the same. If you ever want any while you are in town— our entire deep freeze is dedicated to it 🙂

Leave a Reply

