Foodzie Friday, a review from several boxes

Before I dive right in to Foodzie Friday, I want to welcome all of my new readers! Thanks so much for reading my blog and following me! Click here and I will fill you in on the awesomeness that is Foodzie!

 

Sometimes, it takes me awhile to make my way through the entirety of a box before the next one arrives. I still have a few things from my very first box that I have yet to try! It’s horrible, I know! All this said, I finally have a review on the Suncups that were included in my December Tasting box, labelled Stocking Stuffers. These are a brilliant find for anyone with nut allergies or someone who has a gluten free diet. The box contained three different cups: Dark Chocolate Mint, Milk Chocolate and Caramel, and Milk Chocolate and Sun Butter. The quality of the Dark Chocolate was top notch and T said due to that and the chocolate to mint ratio that it was the best mint-chocolate treat he had ever tasted. The Caramel in the Milk Chocolate cup was wonderfully buttery and the Sun Butter cup is the perfect alergen-freindly alternative to a Peanut Butter Cup.

 

 

 

 

I purchased a bag of 479 popcorn at William-Sonoma when I saw some on clearance last year. I cant not remember what flavor it was, but I remember being impressed with the calibre of the popped kernels. Also included in December 2011’s Stocking Stuffer box was a bag of sesame ginger popcorn. The popcorn is sweetened to perfection and just when you think that is all the popcorn has to offer a little bit of spiciness from the ginger appears and offers a subtle kick.

 

 

 

 

Well-known blogger and registered dietitian, Kath often raves of coconut butter  so when I opened up my first box of the year appropriately dubbed Jump Start Your New Year a discovered my own sample of the butter I was thrilled! I did not really know where to start, but I saw that Kath tossed squash in the butter before roasting it, so I thought I would give it a try. I couldn’t really tell the difference between the coconut butter and olive oil when roasted, but I put a little bit of coconut butter on my plate and definitely detected a little bit of Hawaii on my tongue.

 

 

Acorn Squash, Sauteed Kale, and Filet of Venison

 

 

Last, but not least…. Featured in February’s date night box was a caramel and port wine dark chocolate bar from Sweeteeth Chocolate. I am personally over the fleur-de-sel/sea-salt and caramel/salty caramel and chocolate trend. I thought that this may be an exception since the caramel claimed to be “tinged with port wine”, I saw my husband do something to this chocolate that he has never done to anything I have made (for which I am very thankful!!!) He ran to the trash can and spit it out as quickly as he could. In his defense he does not care for caramel, AT ALL! Since my mother loves all things chocolate, I asked her to try it and she said that it was good.

 

 

 

 

 

According to Foodzie, my next box is in route! Stay tuned next Friday for a video revealing which box I selected and the contents of March’s sampler box.

 

Question of the Day: What are your weekend plans? Any big plans for St. Patrick’s Day?  T and I are having some friends over for dinner tomorrow night. I am sad to say that while I will not be making a traditional Irish feast of corned beef & cabbage, I am going to  make a dessert featuring Guinness!

One thought on “Foodzie Friday, a review from several boxes

  1. Pingback: Delivery! « MY EDIBLE BUCKET LIST

Leave a Reply

