Elephants, Ferris Wheels, and Corn Dogs

When I was younger, I remember going to either the Mid-South Fair or the circus and I always wanted a turkey leg and cotton candy. These days when the weather cools down and the fair rolls into town, one thing always pops into my head— corn dogs! However, this year I was not able to feast on a foot long pronto pup attend the fair. Ever since then, I have had the idea of recreating the delicacy at home. When this idea caught my attention earlier this year, I added it to my edible bucket list and Thursday evening, I was able to scratch it off. I made up my own recipe for the cornbread batter, but loved the idea of making popable corn dogs! Not to mention baking them, far less messy that deep frying and a little more figure friendly.

 

 

 

The following ingredients were mixed together to form the batter:

1/2 c flour

1/4 c corn meal

3/4 t baking powder

1/4 c sugar

1/2 t vanilla

1/2 c habanero cheddar cheese blend, shredded (but you may use whatever cheese you would like)

1/3 c milk

2 T butter, melted

1 egg

After mixing all of the above ingredients together, I cut the hot dogs into 1 inch pieces. Then I sprayed a mini muffin tin with non- stick spray, scooped in the batter then pressed the hot dog into the center of each muffin corn dog.

 

 

Bake them for 10-12 minutes at 350.

 

fluffy, sweet, & crispy exterior

 

Wow! Did these ever satisfy my out-of-season desire for fair food! The sweet and crispy batter perfectly enveloped the steamy hot dogs. If you are looking for a quick and easy snack to whip up in no time, party-perfect food, kid friendly dinners, or watch party nibbles, this fool-proof crowd pleaser is for you! My husband was out of town this weekend and came home asking for these again! I’d say they were a definite success!

 

 

This recipe yields 24 pop able corn dogs and used almost 3 whole hot dogs.

 

 

What is your favorite fair food? Corn Dogs are for sure my favorite!

 

 

One thought on “Elephants, Ferris Wheels, and Corn Dogs

  1. Although not a very nutritious snack, I have to say that looking at those hot dog muffins made my mouth water!! My favorite fair food is the funnel cake and I know that treat has at least a thousand calories, too! I will print this recipe and keep it for a fun snacking food. Thanks for passing it along, Laura. I am really enjoying your blog!

Leave a Reply

