B-A-N-A-N-A-S

Sorry for being MIA yesterday! My lack of posting most certainly does not reflect a lack of edible discoveries this week! I will make up for not posting next week with many lovable treats.

 

Breakfast?! Snack?! Dessert?!

 

These days, being the only banana eater in the house, I have mastered the art of buying bananas by color so that the rate in which I may eat them corresponds to my desired level of ripeness. Because of this, I usually only buy 1-2 bananas at a time. Over the weekend, I inherited quite a few (5 to be exact). After eating 2 of them myself, I was left the with bananas that were beginning to to speckle (the stage at which I no longer eat them.) It was the perfect opportunity to share my favorite recipe with you all for banana bread or muffins. These muffins are perfect for anytime of the day. They are not overly sugary, but could most definitely function as a sweet ending to your day.

 

Fresh from the oven!

 

1/2 c shortening

1 c sugar

3 bananas, ripe

2 c all-purpose flour

1 t baking powder

1 t baking soda

1 t vanilla

1/2 t cinnamon

1/2 t salt

 

Preheat oven to 350. Cream shortening with sugar in a mixer. Add eggs and vanilla, then add bananas. In another bowl add all of the dry ingredients then mix them in with the banana mixture.

This recipe yields 12 muffins or 1 loaf of bread. If making muffins they will cook for 18-20 minutes and the loaf will cook for around 45. Walnuts or pecans would be a great addition to the batter.

 

Leave a Reply

