A few of my favorite things

Along with Cereal, peanut butter is one of my favorite edible items and cinnamon much loved spice. Together, these ingredients are combined to create something I mentioned in What I’m Loving Wednesday last week. A friend shared this recipe with me and am I EVER so grateful!

 

Mid bite

 

These no-bake peanutty treats are hearty enough for a substitute lunch and sweet enough for an afternoon pick me up.

 

1/3 c brown sugar

1/3 c honey

1 1/2 c peanut butter

1/2 t cinnamon

5 c bran flake cereal

 

Combine the brown sugar and the cup honey in a large saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat, stirring constntly. Once the mixture reaches a boil, remove it from the heat and stir in the peanut butter and cinnamon until smooth. Next add in the cereal and make sure the it is fully coated by the peanut butter mixture.

 

I line a cupcake pan with wrappers then scoop the cereal into each spot. Press the cereal down firmly packing it into each wrapper, but carefully so not to crush the cereal. Enjoy immediately or after cooling, wrap each “muffin” individually in saran wrap and store in a ziplock back in the refrigerator. I prefer mine straight from the refrigerator.

 

Instant satisfaction!

 

 

Feel free to add chocolate chips, cranberries or whatever you would like. Also, you can make this is a square pan if you would rather have bars. However you make these, I hope that you enjoy them as much as I do.

 

yum!

 

What are your favorite edible things? Do you have a way to combine them into one recipe?

 

 

Leave a Reply

