Hand Me Downs

My family has a few friends who are really more like family. I have almost as many memories with them as I do with my siblings. I am so grateful for those relationships and you should be as well. Because, behold- I bring you the Tomato Cheddar Pie!

 

Before it went in the oven

 

 

Handed down from one of our friends to myself is this recipe that was originally her Mother’s. Over the years she has made this pie for me and 3 years ago at a recipe shower I had before getting married, she shared this one with me.

 

Ready to eat!

 

Perfect for Brunch, Lunch, or Dinner this savory pie is especially perfect for the upcoming tomato crop this summer. (Not to mention it is a pretty pastry as well) Add this pie to your edible bucket list for the summer. Although, I made this pie, just last week- I will definitely be making it again! I hope that you enjoy this delicious hand me down as much as I do!

 

 

Tomato-Cheddar Pie

 

1 9-inch pie crust, baked until lightly brown

3-4 tomatoes, sliced thinly

1/2 cup of chopped onions

a large handful of basil, julienned

1/2 t salt

1/2 t pepper

a pinch of sugar

2 cups of grated sharp cheddar cheese

1/3 c mayonnaise

 

Preheat the oven to 350.

1. Lay Tomatoes on the bottom of  the pre-baked pie crust.

2. Mix the onions, basil, salt, pepper, and salt. Cover tomatoes with this mixture.

3. Combine the mayonnaise and the cheese then top the onion mixture with this mixture.

4. Bake for 30-40 minutes until the cheese is fully melted and nicely brown.

 

One thought on “Hand Me Downs

  1. Easy and so delish! I’m about to make it for the 3rd time! Thanks to Laura’s friend for sharing this amazing recipe with her so she could share it with me =)

Leave a Reply

