A Long Time Coming….

If you have been following me for a while you know that leading up to the summer, I often shared my excitement for the produce that comes along with the warmer weather. It is sort of a trade off— unbearable temps for fruits and vegetables that taste like they were meant to taste. A few weeks ago I took a very poor photo of a recipe I wanted to try in a magazine. Fortunately, the magazine also provided the recipe on their website or I might have never discovered how amazing corn, cheese, and mayonnaise taste together. I know that description makes you want to immediately make these, so I will show you the picture that instantly captivated me.

 

Original Photo From Ladies Home Journal

(source)

 

 

First, I whipped up the batter and then waited for the skillet and oil to come to the right temperature.

 

The batter…ready to be fried!

 

 

The hardest part is waiting for each side to cook and the best part is watching bits of cheddar melt and form crispy, salty edges around each fritter.

 

Well on its way to becoming dinner!

Well on its way to becoming dinner!

 

 

After frying on each side and making a “remoulade” the fritters were ready to by enjoyed! To let you know how much I enjoyed these, I have made them twice in the past 10 days! The corn lends its natural sweetness while providing a nice crunch meanwhile, the saltiness of the cheese brings this savory fritter together perfectly.

 

The Finished Product!

 

The second time I made them, I added a little minced onion, cilantro, and jalapeno to the batter. I also tszujed up the mayo by adding cayenne pepper, cilantro, and lime juice. They also taste great topped with guacamole. I speak from experience as I tried them like this last night!

 

I hope you enjoy your weekend! I can promise you will enjoy what you eat if you make these a part of it!

Leave a Reply

