Tomato Bread Pudding

Squash, Corn, Okra, Peppers, and Tomatoes are more than readily available this time of year. Often times, it is difficult to find a way to utilize all of the summer bounty before it goes south. I recently found myself in this predicament when a friends shared her abundance of Tomatoes with me. After enjoying the garden-fresh tomatoes for many days, I still had a few that were near the end of their lives. I had the idea to create a tomato bread pudding.

 

I cut the larger tomatoes up into larger pieces and left the cherry-sized tomatoes whole. I drizzled the tomatoes in olive oil and balsamic vinegar and sprinkles the tomatoes with salt, pepper, and a pinch of sugar. I roasted them at 275 for 45 minutes just to get the juices flowing. (These are not your typical oven-roasted tomatoes)

 

Ready to be roasted

 

 

I then cubed a baguette into 1-inch pieces and toasted them in the oven at 350 for 15 minutes so that they would easily absorb the custard. 4 egg whites, 1 egg, 1 cup of milk, 3 green onions sliced, and 1/2 cup of shredded cheese (feel free to add as much cheese as your would like!!) were whisked together and then I added the toasted bread and roasted tomatoes. After greasing a soufflé pan, I added the mixture and then put it in the oven.

 

Assembled

 

 

After 30 minutes in the oven at 350 the cheese began to brown and bubble while a few of the little cubes of bread rose above the custard and they became croutons studded with sweet and tangy tomatoes.

 

 

The finished product

 

 

Mmm! The flavors melded together perfectly; however, I encourage you to be your own chef! Substitute goat cheese or fresh mozzarella and throw in some basil or whatever herbs you currently have in your garden. I am sure that you can guess that I ate the top of the bread pudding and gave T what remained underneath. I could get over the delicious crispy cubes of baguette that had absorbed the juices of the tomatoes and had bits of steamy cheddar attached to eat bite.

 

Close up of the “pudding”

 

 

This tomato bread pudding would be perfect any time of the day.

 

Breakfast: You could top it with a poached egg and a side of fruit

Brunch/Lunch: Served along side a salad and either bacon or sausage

Dinner: Accompanied by steamed broccoli and grilled chicken topped with a goat cheese vinaigrette.

 

When you make it, let me know how it goes, which meal you decide it is best suits, and if you hogged the crispy bits for yourself or nicely shared them!

Leave a Reply

