Summer’s Bounty

The thing about Summer in the South, is that it can be overwhelming. Overwhelmingly hot, overwhelmingly humid, and overwhelmingly plentiful.

Most people would not consider the last to be overwhelming, but for me there are too many recipes and too many ingredients to pack into such a short window of time. I have to remind my self that this is not a problem and to sit, back, relax, and enjoy the bounty.

When zipping through Kristen’s friday favorites last weekend while headed home from Nashville, I spotted this recipe and knew it deserved a spot on this summer’s edible bucket list. Basically, all of my favorite things on one plate!!

I am going to go ahead and say my photography has nothing on Tiegan’s beautiful photos, but it tasted fabulous and that is all that truly matters.

I changed the recipe up a bit, here is what I did.

IMG_2309

Corn-Cheddar Fritters inspired by: Half Baked Harvest 

Honey-Chipotle Vinaigrette 

In my small food processor, I put:

1 clove of garlic, peeled

2 T Honey

2 T Apple Cider Vinegar

1 chipotle pepper

1/4 t kosher salt

1/4 t freshly ground pepper

After the garlic and the chipotle pepper were minced, I added 1/2 c olive oil. Once emulsified, it was time to move on to the fritter!

Cheddar Corn Fritter

Combine the following in  a mixing bowl and mix until well-incorporated.

1 1/2 c corn (roughly the amount from two ears of corn is perfect)

1/2 c flour

1/4 c cornmeal

1/8 c sugar

1 T brown sugar

1/2 t baking powder

1/4 t salt

1/4 t pepper

1/2 c milk

2/3 c grated cheddar

oil, for frying.

After combining the above ingredients, I heated a skillet to medium heat and coated the pan with a little vegetable oil in order to keep the fritters from sticking. I used an ice cream scoop for easy scooping and even measurement. Cook the fritters for 3-5 minutes her side flipping when golden brown.

Assembly

Here is where the creativity really takes place. I had a “LTA” and T had a “BLTA”. You can really top these fritters however you please. When arranging our corn fritter stacks, I chose peppery arugula to serve as the lettuce, mashed up some avocado to spread atop each fritter, thinly sliced some ruby-red tomatoes, and for T added some crispy bacon to make it man-friendly.  I not only dressed the arugula with the honey-chipotle dressing, but I also drizzled it over the final product.

I cannot reiterate how much this dish screams summer and it’s ability to please a crowd. This recipe is quite simple and if the chipotle pepper steers you away, take my word for it when I say, it is not a spicy dressing and the honey and vinegar really even out the smokiness of the pepper. My husband is not one to ooh and ahh over food and this had him singing my praises.

 

IMG_2318

 

What are your favorite ways to use Summer’s Bounty? 

One thought on “Summer’s Bounty

  1. Pingback: Summer 2013: A round up of the best things I ate last Summer | MY EDIBLE BUCKET LIST

Leave a Reply

