Beginner’s Luck

I will be the first to tell you, that I don’t believe it luck. But listen up, I made ribs for the 4th of July this summer— and they were perfect.

IMG_1565

They were fall off the bone and melt in your mouth tender while also having depth of flavor and the perfect bark.

IMG_1562

If you are not familiar with Memphis, our claim to fame includes {but is not limited to} Elvis, the Peabody ducks, and BBQ.

IMG_1579

I was hesitant to make ribs all by myself, but since the only judges would be my siblings and my husband- I bit the bullet and took on the challenge. I made both baby back and St. Louis Style ribs, so I think either type will work {Texan’s you could even try beef ribs}. I highly recommend that you have some friends over this summer and make these ribs. They are fool-proof, tasty, and will give you a little taste of Memphis, Tennessee.

Go ahead and and make them this weekend as a send off to Summer 2013.

1 slab of ribs

yellow mustard

4 teaspoons smoked paprika

2 teaspoons salt

2 teaspoons freshly ground pepper

2 teaspoons brown sugar

1 teaspoon garlic powder

1 teaspoon cayenne pepper

1. Mix all of the spices together in a small bowl.

2. Lay out the ribs on a large piece of foil. Generously coat one side of the ribs with mustard, sprinkle half of the spice mixture over the mustard.

IMG_1526

3. Flip the slab over and repeat step two on the other side.

IMG_1531

4. Fold up the ribs in the foil. Wrap up the ribs with two additional layers of foil and refrigerate over night or for 8 hours or so.

IMG_1532

5. Preheat over to 250. Place ribs {still wrapped in foil} on a rimmed baking sheet for 4 hours.

6. Pre-heat your outside grill to 400. Carefully unwrap the ribs {the foil will be hot, but the steam inside is even more so.}

IMG_1550

7. Grill the ribs for for 5 minutes on each side for great bark that screams, I’ve been smoking on a grill all day.

IMG_1578

Optional: serve with favorite bbq sauce for those who are like me who order dry ribs then slather them with sauce.

One thought on “Beginner’s Luck

  1. Pingback: Summer 2013: A round up of the best things I ate last Summer | MY EDIBLE BUCKET LIST

Leave a Reply

