Frittata for dinner

Last week, I looked in my refrigerator & freezer and from there I discovered what I was going to make for dinner. BREAKFAST! As many of you know, I eat cereal for breakfast every morning- no matter what. I even ate cereal each morning on our honeymoon as T feasted away on the many delicacies that were offered. I love breakfast food, but just not for breakfast so I take every opportunity I have to make french toast, scrambled eggs, waffles, etc. for dinner.

I love frittatas, but I have never made one. It is basically a crustless quiche. I had about 10 egg-whites in the freezer probably left over from making ice cream or some some of custard-y dessert which led to my decision to make an egg-white frittata. It turned out to be a delicious idea so I am sharing how I made my first frittata* below.

 

Farmer’s Market Frittata

10 egg-whites

1 Zucchini, cubed

1/2 purple onion, slice in 1/2-inch wedges

1/2 red pepper, cut in thin strips

1 garlic clove, minced

2 laughing cow swiss cheese wedges

2 T milk

1/2 t evoo

1/2 t butter

 

Turn oven on broil

Heat medium sized frying pan with olive oil & butter over medium heat. Once butter melts, add all of the vegetables and sauté 5 minutes. Season with salt and pepper.

Add eggs, milk, and cheese. Continue to cook for about 4 minutes, stirring occasionally with a spatula. Once the eggs begin to set up, put the whole pan in the oven for 3-4 minutes until you reach desired doneness. Cut in wedges & serve immediately.

This recipe can be made with whole eggs, any vegetables you would like, and any array of cheeses. I just used what was in my refrigerator that evening.

 

*Another bucket list item is crossed off!!!

Leave a comment